Reviews

Mary D. (Review)  - 08/10/2020

We come to see Steve Russell every time he plays at the Sunset Bistro. He has a great selection of dancable music. He does a great job and is our favorite solo act.

Karen R. (Review)  - 08/08/2020

We really enjoyed listening to your show. It's very impressive that you play and record the tracks yourself!

Lauren K. (Review)  - 08/08/2020

Wow! You did and excellent job with your compilation of instruments and your great voice! You are blessed with many talents!

Nick G. (Review)  - 08/08/2020

Terrific!  Just because I'm bias, doesn't make me wrong. Great covers of some really good songs!

Dot G. (Review)  - 08/08/2020

Steve Russell is awesome! I bet the listeners wanted to get up on the dance floor, even though its was closed becuase of social distant restrictions.

Irene V. (Review)  - 08/08/2020

I surely enjoy your music. You did an excellent job. Love your singing!

Linda A. (Review)  - 02/06/2020
We just had Steve Russell play as his solo act for our residents of El Dorado at Sun City. He took the time on his break greet each table and to take song requests.  The volume was just right and had couples dancing right from the start. He is a great fit for El Dorado and we plan on having him back again in
December.


Kelley D. (Review) - 01/31/2020
We just had Steve Russell play for our residents of The Meridian RV Resort. He took all sorts of requests and had people dancing all night long! Steve also went out of his way to start a half hour earlier than scheduled as our residents were ready to get going early. Everyone stayed until he stopped at 9PM. He plays a wide variety of music and has just the right volume level so people can still have a conversation.  We liked Steve Russell so much that I have have him booked for our resort season opener in October!


Dani G. (Review)  - 01/12/2020
Steve Russell is one of our regular performers here at the VFW in Apache Junction. He plays a wide variety of music, plays at the perfect volume level for our members and always takes requests! We can always depend on him to help us our in a pinch when another group cancels a booking.
Steve is our schedule at least once a month, either as his solo act (Phacets Music) or with his duo (The BuckGuyz).


Terri L. (Review) - 8/22/2020
We had Steve Russell play for our monthly gathering for the residents of Monticeto Senior Living. While I wasn’t personally there to see him perform (and I was very disappointed), my assistant and the residents that they enjoyed his performance very much. We plan on having him back in 2020!


Melanie C. (Review) - 08/22/2020
Our residents of Palmas Del Sol in Mesa, AZ enjoyed the music of Steve Russell and The BuckGuyz very much! we had a great turnout and he played many requests.


Kimberly S. (Review) - 06/21/2019
We recently had Steve come out and play for one of our Flamigo social events. He read the room perfectly and played a wide variety of songs that our rsidents requested… They were even dancing in the middle of the afternoon! He keeps the volume at just the right level so people could have a conversation at their tables. He did a fantastic job and we plan on having him back for future events!


Paige McClafferty (Review) - 11/30/2018
Steve Russell is one of our regular entertainers here at The Fountains At Lake Pleasant. Our residents love him because he will take the time to visit with them during breaks and play requests. If he was available all the time, we would have him back every month!  Each month we have different-themed events for our residents, such as That’s Amore (Italian), Fiesta (Mexican) and Boogie Down (Disco). Steve will go out of his way to learn custom songs for each themed event.


Lisa O. (Review) - 11/08/2018
We were finally able to get Steve Russell to perform on a Friday evening at the Sunset Bistro. He was great! Just the right volume, played a wide variety of music and was very congenial with the customers! We sent out a blast e-mail to all our gold club members to check him out. Looking forward wait to have him back!


Amy Schlecht (Review) - 4/10/2018
We are a new restaurant in the Estrella Mountain Ranch in Goodyear, AZ that features live acoustic music on Thursdays and small bands on Saturdays. Steve was a big hit from our restaurant patrons… He played a wide variety of music, wasn’t too loud and took many requests! We are having come back next month.


Tracy Johnson (Review) - 12/11/2017
We found Steve thru Gigmasters for our holiday party. He scores the highest ranking in in overall talent, professionalism and accommadation. He was well-received by all our party guests. He exceeded my expectations and will use in future events.


Tammy Coleman (Review) - 11/16/2017
We just had Steve play for our western theme happy hour at Amethest. He has a wide variety of songs that our residents loved and even took a couple of requests. Steve has a great voice and is a talented guitar player. We will definitely have him back.


Suzanne & Don (Review) - 10/07/2017
We just had Steve Russell play for our 60th wedding anniversary at our home in Goodyear. He was a big hit with our guests and family. Steve took lots of request and played something for everyone. We highly recommended him to all our friends in the Pebble Creek area who have parties!


Amber Masters (Review) - 10/06/2017
This was Steve Russell’s first time playing for us here at Grove Coffee in Chandler. He was great! Steve plays a wide variety of music with lots of energy! Great fit for our venue.


Pat Stillwell (Review) - 07/04/2017
“Absolutely awesome!”. We spent the afternoon at a friend’s home pool party with Steve Russell providing the background music. Being a musician myself, you can tell he loves what he does and spends plenty of time perfecting his craft. He plays several instruments and has an extremely large selection of songs to
listen to.


Mark Nussele (Review) - 05/13/2017
We had Steve play for our Hope For Kids/Peach Party event in North Scottsdale. He was excellent! Plays a wide variety of material and just the right volume that you actually carry on on conversation. He even played “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” as a special request for the kids. Looking forward to using him again in our future events.


Susan O’Connell (Review) - 04/15/2017
We hired Steve Russell though Gig Masters for our “Boots & Diamonds” event. He arrived early, was very professional, just the right volume, and played a wide variety of material. Our patrons loved him so much that we now have him in the regular entertaiment rotation.


Marina Quintana (Review) - 01/18/2017
Steve Russell is one of our regular entertainers here at The Fountains At Lake Pleasant. Each month we have different-themed events for our residents, such as That’s Amore (Italian), Fiesta (Mexican) and Boogie Down (Disco). Steve will go out of his way to learn custom songs for each themed event.  Our residents love him because he will take the time to visit with them during breaks and play requests. If he was available all the time, we would have him back every month!


Bob Theilan (Review) - 09/18/2016
I first met Steve playing at the Tilted Kilt in Paradise Valley, AZ earlier this year. He does quite a variety of music and even takes requests! We hired Steve to come out to the Los Angeles area for a private party for about 75 airlines professionals.  Steve was prompt, courteous and very professional. He went to the trouble of learning over 40 songs for this particular event and we couldn’t have been more pleased. Everyone complimented on his sound quality (not too loud, not too soft) and wide variety of material.  We highly recommend Steve for any of your upcoming parties or events.


Jean and Sandy (Review) - 07/04/2016
We had Steve play once again for our Independence Day celebration. Everyone loves his wide variety of music and thought he was even better than last year! He also performs at a reasonable volume so you carry on a conversation while he plays.


Tilted Kilt (Paradise Valley) - 05/23/2016
We just started having live music on our patio and Steve Russell was the perfect fit! He plays a wide variety of songs, plays multiple instruments and great vocals.  We definitely are having him back!


Verrado Coffee Company (Review) - 04/16/2016
Steve does a great job on our music Sundays. He is prompt, professional and plays at a nice volume for our customers who like to sit, read and enjoy their
beverages. He offers a wide variety of music and takes requests!


Enchantment Resort (Review) - 11/18/2015
We had Steve perform for our annual ReMax social mixer at the Enchantment Resort in Sedona, AZ. He played a wide variety of music for our guests and was
extremely well received. The volume was perfect so everyone could still have a conversation.


Lauren Franz Kennard (Review) - 11/16/2015
Saw your videos from your performance at the Verrado Coffee Company on You Tube. Way cool dude. Fantastic!


Laura Wilkerson (Review) - 07/13/2015
Took some time out my busy day to grab an iced coffee at the Verrado Coffee Company and sit back and enjoy the musical performance given by Stephen Russell.  His playlist included one good song after another. It was truly a wonderful event.  Thank you Stephen. I hope to see you perform again soon in Verrado.


Mindy and Richard (Review) - 07/12/2015
Steve did an excellent job playing for Mindy’s birthday party. We love his wide variety of music and how he switches between different guitars. He showed up early and stayed late. All of out guests love his vocals and professional performance.


Jean McKay (Review) - 07/05/2015
Steve is a really nice guy and a great musician. We had him play at our 4th of July pool party and he was a great hit! He picked a perfect mix of music. I was told by all my guests how much they enjoyed having him play at the party. I will definitely plan to have him be our entertainer again.


George and Michelle (Review) - 05/17/2015
Steve performed for our mother’s 70th birthday party at our home. He has an awesome voice and there really wasn’t a song he played that we didn’t like! We definitely want to get him our our restaurants.


Steve and Karen (Review) - 01/02/2015
Steve and Shelley performed at our restaurant this past New Years Eve. They were very well received by our patrons, just the right volume and made the extra effort to make sure everyone was happy. We are working on getting this act into our regular rotation of entertainers.


John and Lucy Johnson (Review) - 07/29/2014
We saw Steve perform with After Sundown at a cancer fund raiser at the Elks Lodge in Glendale. There were multiple bands thoughtout the afternoon. The best vocals we heard all day!


Mike and Laurie (Review) - 05/23/2014
We loved the variety of music that Steve and Shelley played at Austin’s in Goodyear last night. We sat at the bar and applauded after every song!


John and Sara Harcourt (Review) - 04/19/2014
We just saw Steve Russell of Phacets Music performing with his group “rNb” at Augies in Goodyear, AZ this past Friday. We were just going to stay for a couple of songs and one round of drinks, but ending up staying the entire evening. A great variety of material, excellent vocals and guitar of Steve’s part! Highly recommend!


Sharon Tara (Review) - 01/15/2014
I am so impressed with the results of all your hard work, Steve. It’s obvious how much you love what you do, your passion for music shines through each song. I am happy to see you’ve added Country music to your playlist…I’m a big Country fan and enjoyed listening to your tracks.


Josh Harring (Review) - 01/11/2014
Stephen Russell is a man of many talents. Singing and playing over 10 instruments, this lifelong musician, along with his wife Shelley, has been in the music scene for over three decades. Steve’s current project, Phacets Musuc, is his take on many classic songs from various genres of music, including the aforementioned country, classic rock, R&B, and more. As the name would imply, there is a bit of a country twang twist on the song’s vocals – Steve pulls it offvery well even though he’s from the Northeast instead of the Deep South! Furthermore, the instrumentation often has a bit of a retro-synthesizer throwback feel to it as well (check out his interpretations of “Black Velvet” by Alannah Myles and “Superstition” by Stevie Wonder). If you’re looking for something a little different but still familiar, and you want to check out a talented musician at work, check out Phacets Music!


Dave Trull (Review) - 01/05/2014
Steve Russell has always loved performing and now he has compiled many of his long-time favorites with some country overtones in his reinvention. He has taken a few dozen Pop, Rock and Country favorites and added a hint of his Country sound to them, for a refreshing new musical sound. This Massachusetts homeboy, now living in the Arizona desert, is not a Fish out of water. Steve has put his unique spin and rejuvenated energy into this musical ensemble. If you loved the music of the 70’s and 80’s, you are in for a treat courtesy of Steve. He may have the most unique rendition of the Moody Blues’ Story in Your Eyes Ihave ever heard. He pulls it off and makes it work. The long lost favorite Third Rate Romance by The Amazing Rhythm Aces is a great cover performance. Andhow many would dare to take on Billy Idol’s White Wedding? Steve Russell would. In this long awaited compilation, Steve Russell shows us his creativity in bringing so many Rock hits over to the Country line. His easy twang and love for his music carry the day musically.


Dan Elder (Review) - 01/04/2014
Really enjoyed your music mix – so much great music done so VERY well! Thanks for sharing – glad you got back to your studio – now I’m inspired to drag out my bass and start jamming!


Keith Piccollo (Review) - 01/04/2014
Nice artwork. As usual, your voice is “maw-ve-lous, Dah-ling.” However, … I hate to tell you, I really don’t care for country music, but I DID like your “Toto”, “Billy Idol” and “Steve Miller.”


Dot Garcia (Review) - 01/04/2014
I listened to some of your tunes and they are great! I especially like your vocal harmonies. Very nice!


Sandra Spence (Review) - 01/04/2014
I listened to your tracks this A.M. with snow falling and a cup of tea! Great job! I loved Baker Street! And so much work you put into it! You should be so proud. I wish I could do that! Thank you for sharing! Wonderful!


Bernice Privitera (Review) - 01/04/2014
Very nice, it was very smooth!!! Really enjoyed!


Renee Leonard (Review) - 12/28/2013
So happy to hear you back in the Boot Scootin’ Boogie, where the Brown-Eyed Girl sees Tequila Sunrise in Sweet Home Alabama thru the Sunshine of Your Love, and ends up Takin’ it Easy in Margaritaville!  Can’t you see that the Wild Nights when Your Mama Don’t Dance in Sweet Home Chicago can lead to the Ventura Highway and leave you a Thousand Miles from Nowhere counting Mexican Minutes?  Can’t believe someone so talented in the Wagon Wheel of life can’t get the concept of Flying Fish!


Sheila Welch (Review) - 12/28/2013
Can’t believe you took a break from live performances! These songs bring back lots of memories from high school and college days! I really like the easy tone of your voice and the instrumentals are fantastic.

© 2020 by Steve Russell